MARIE F. MARTIN

BOOKS WITH COURAGE

Back to School and Zucchini Muffins

muffins
Two events happen every fall. Kids head back to their classrooms and I make zucchini muffins. Through the years my recipe has evolved same as my taste buds. I need a little bit more cinnamon, a touch more vanilla, and a cup more shredded zucchini. Here is how I do it. I bum a zucchini squash from my daughter’s garden. I know the size that will shred into about eight cups. Prefect for two batches. First wash the gourd for possible dirt, peel it with a potato peeler, shred and set aside.

Crack 4 eggs into the bowl of your mixer, add 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white sugar, 1 & 1/2 teaspoons vanilla. Mix thoroughly.

Add 1&1/2 teaspoons baking soda, 1&1/2 baking powder, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, and three cups all purpose flour. Mix this at a low speed until combined. The dough will be pretty stiff. Then add three or four cups shredded zucchini and mix well. The dough now will be a little on the runny side. If you want chopped walnuts and raisins now is the time to add them. Put cup cake papers in muffin pans and fill with dough. I used a fourth of a cup measuring cup to do the filling of the cups. Bake at 350 around 20 minutes or until centers bounce back when touched.

Final touch: after they are baked and still hot put a half of cup of white sugar in a small bowl, add a teaspoon of vanilla and a little cool water and mix with a fork. Use only enough water to make a spreadable glaze. I brush the tops of each with the glaze and then remove from the pans to cool. And that is how you make Marie’s zucchini muffins. Hope you enjoy them. Preparing the kids for school is another story, but I remember lists of required things like pencils, paper etc. And lots of jeans.

Enjoy the muffins.  Marie

business card (2)

1 Comment

  1. Kelly

    They look yummy…like the glaze idea.

    Like

Leave a comment