Sharing Crystal’s review of Harbored Secrets.

The following is a review of Harbored Secrets. It is so well written, I wanted to share it.   Crystal has a way with words. Maybe she should write a book. HarboredSecrets21_thumb.png

Crystal’s review Sep 18, 15
4 of 5 stars
Read from September 14 to 18, 2015

I’m giving this 4 out of 5 stars only because it was so tragic and I desperately wanted the main character to get a break, but it just seemed like one heartache and negative thing after another. Having said that, I became addicted to this book and couldn’t wait to pick it up and read it. I was not sure at first what to expect as the only description was Mystery and about a person trying to uncover the secrets of their past. It was not what I expected, yet also better. This story had depth I haven’t read in a very long time. I got angry and wanted to slap some of the characters and how they did things, which shows very good writing. I wanted to wrap my arms around some of the characters and console them. I wanted to happiness for them all. It breaks apart from the older version of the main character to the younger and retells her story as she sees it, only later learning, inch by inch, that there was more to the story, as it true of all families. Talk about skeletons in the closet, or barn! The author paints a beautifully tragic picture of the realities of human imperfection and weakness, and the devastation that can be done when parents and others don’t step up and be what they need to be for little ones who need nurturing the most. I know this well and can relate to much of the emotions. Loving one and hating another parent, only to learn more of the backstory and have it kind of swap. I still wish somebody would have punched Alice, and I’m not a violent person. I can’t say enough good things about the author’s talent at capturing scenery, tragedy, and somehow the beauty in little things, as well as the determination of the human soul, and how connections are not easily broken even if we want to slap certain people. I am deeply impressed with this book and the author. I look forward to reading more of her work.

www.mariefmartin.com

Leave a Reply

